top of page

INTERVIEW: Meet Sunlust, A Female-Fronted Rock Band From Toronto, Canada

FOR FANS OF: Veruca Salt, Smashing Pumpkins, Stone Temple Pilots

Sunlust, a female fronted rock band from Toronto, Canada, released their debut album Geek Confessions on April 12th. Keep on reading to get to know Sunlust and learn a bit more about their latest releases!

1) Who are the members of Sunlust and how did you all meet?


Dan - We have 3 members in Sunlust - playing guitar and singing is Stephanie Woulfe, on the bass we have Stefano Signorile, and I (Dan Wiktor) playing the drums.


The band kicked off in 2018 when Stephanie found my kijiji drummer ad. She brought forth a bundle of songs that she demoed throughout the last couple years and we began trying out the tunes. I got Stefano to join us soon after. Me and Stefano studied at York University and we became buds from our freshmen year in 2012. From then on we’ve been rehearsing, recording, and gigging. It's wild to think it's been nearly 3 years since we’ve started the band! We’re thankful for it and have been growing together ever since.


2) What is the meaning of the album title Geek Confessions?


Steph - The album title Geek Confessions comes from the title of a song that isn’t on the album, called ‘Outright Loser Geek Confessions’. I liked Geek Confessions as a phrase, because it’s sort of weird sounding. When I looked at the collection of songs on the album, I realized they were all very much my little inner-world confessions, so Geek Confessions was fitting as an album title. We debated going with just the classic eponymous album title, but I think something original like this is a little more interesting and memorable.


3) What was your favorite song to write for Geek Confessions?


Steph - All of the songs on the album have a lot of meaning to me personally. Because I wrote them all over a period of about 3 years, they all have their own individual feeling and journey behind them. I have favourite moments and things about all of the songs - I love the riff for "Year of the Rat", I love the story behind Pearl Brain, I love the differentness and explorative feeling of "Goodbye", and I love the lyrics in "Existor"… All of the songs feel like my precious little children and I love them all in different ways.


4) Who are some of your musical influences?


Steph - I’d say the biggest influences on the songwriting for Geek Confessions were Nirvana, Hole, the Pixies, and the Breeders. The 90s alternative and grunge scene was highly influential on me as a songwriter. However, I am also very inspired by newer artists, like Courtney Barnett, Mac DeMarco, St. Vincent, White Reaper, FIDLAR, Idles, Bully, Starcrawler, PUP, Skating Polly, Charly Bliss ... the list goes on. I love to discover new music and I am constantly appreciating and taking notes from different elements of different artists, whether it be their stage presence, their lyrics, their authenticity, their character, etc.


Dan - I appreciate modern bands like Arcade Fire, Royal Blood, Arctic Monkeys, and Radiohead to name a few. From a drumming perspective I’ve definitely paid my dues to tracks from Cage the Elephant, The Strokes, The Beatles, and Zeppelin..


Stefano - in terms of being a bass player, my biggest influences are Paul McCartney, Geddy Lee, and Flea. Paul because he is able to make some very colourful bass lines, without being hard to play. Geddy because of how he is able to play such intricate bass lines while also singing and playing synthesizer and keys. It’s absolutely mind-melting. Finally, Flea because not only is he one of the best slappers, he has an enormous amount of energy and presence on stage, which is something I try to emulate when I perform.


5) Where did you come up with the band name Sunlust?


Steph - Coming up with a band name was actually a lot of internal pressure for me since I’ve been dreaming of being in a band for so long, but I just ended up making a list of cool sounding phrases and words on a paper, and Sunlust was one of the things I came up with. I have a very intense connection with summer and all the senses that surround it, and a lot of my lyrics have to do with warmth and seeking the sun, so Sunlust ended up making a lot of sense as a band name. It also rolled off the tongue nicely and wasn’t taken by any other music artists, so we went with it!


6) If you could only listen to one song for the rest of your life, what would it be?


Dan - I’ll go with Sir Duke - Stevie Wonder. There’s something special happening in that tune.


Steph - Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl) by Looking Glass, I never get tired of that song and it always makes me feel warm and fuzzy


Stefano - 2112 by Rush. The song might as well have many different elements and moods if I can only pick one! Rush is also one of my all-time favourite bands.


7) If you could tour with anyone, who would it be?


Steph - Touring with FIDLAR seems like it’d be a pretty damn fun time.


Dan - Cage the Elephant or The Strokes would be sweet


Stefano - Arctic Monkeys or Kool & The Gang


8) How would you describe your sound?


Steph: A fuzzed-up ants-in-your-pants heartwarming punk rock grunge explosion with a twist of lemon and a cherry on top


9) What is 2021 looking like for Sunlust?


Steph - Hopefully getting our new album Geek Confessions circulating worldwide. The album is also coming out on a limited edition 180g vinyl and will be available very soon, so that's exciting too - if anyone wants a copy just message us on our social media! We also want to record and release some new tracks and get working on new music. And gosh darnit we want to have a beer and play a show at our favourite Toronto bars!


10) What do you love about music?


Stefano - I like the memories associated with different songs and albums. When I listen to music associated with specific times in my life, it takes me back to those times just as much as pictures and videos do.


Dan - I love music because it's a unique form of language. It lives in its own dimension compared to how we traditionally communicate. It breathes differently and speaks loud with its universal quality.


Steph - I love that no matter what is going on in my life, music is there. I can always return to it. It’s a never ending comfort. The connection I feel with music has always prevailed over most everything else in my life. Playing music and listening to music that I feel strongly about and connect with has a special otherworldly feeling of importance that I cannot really describe in words; but I know other music lovers know what I’m talking about.



Follow Sunlust on Facebook, and Instagram.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page