top of page

LP REVIEW: The Wrecks' 'Sonder'

The Wrecks' release Sonder, the band's second LP.

The Wrecks are back with the release of their sophomore album - Sonder, an 11-track record filled with upbeat rhythms and intense, emotionally charged lyrics. It's one of my favorite albums of 2022.

Sonder reminds me of the pop rock music I grew up listening to, like "Ocean Avenue," by Yellowcard," "Until The Day I Die," by Story Of The Year.

Some of my favorite tracks are "Unholy," "I Love This Part," and "Lone Survivor." Sonder overall has a pop rock sound that's danceable with catchy emo lyrics. It's like a refresh of all your favorite emo pop rock band from the early 2000's. It brings imagery of California beaches, Converse shoes & skinny jeans, and the sweet bitter taste of your first real heartbreak. It's the kind of record you're going to love obsessively right now and for the years to come. If I was just a few years younger, I'd be scribbling Sonder lyrics all over my school notebooks like I did with Fall Out Boy lyrics.


I love this record. It feels both so familiar and brand new at the same time. I feel like a kid again, getting all excited about a new pop rock band I found. I want to hang their poster on my wall and replay their cd until all my batteries die. I love it. It's so fun and so nostalgic.

The Wrecks are on tour right now, called Better Than Ever with support from girlhouse and Mothe. Get tickets and buy their new record here.




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page